20 kimono measurements needed when tailoring a kimono

How many kimono measurements do you know?
In fact, about 20 measurements are required when tailoring a kimono.
Here I introduce the kimono measurements along with the standard measurements.


20 kimono measurements

The 20 measurements are written down below.

  1. Mitake
  2. Yuki
  3. Sode-haba
  4. Kata-haba
  5. Sode-take
  6. Sode-guchi
  7. Side-tsuke
  8. Miyatsukuchi
  9. Sodemaru
  10. Mae-haba
  11. Ushiro-haba
  12. Daki-haba
  13. Okumi-haba
  14. Aizuma-haba
  15. Tsumashita
  16. Kurikoshi
  17. Okumi-sagari
  18. Eri-tsukekomi
  19. Kensaki-nuikomi
  20. Kataaki
Figure#1 : Name of Kimono in japanese

Names of Kimono English version is in preparation.
File no.1 on the STUDENTS ONLY page can be used as a reference material instead of Figure#1.

How to determine kimono measurements

Here is how to determine the standard measurements of kimono.

  1. Mitake = height (of body)
  2. Yuki = Take measurements from the neck to the wrist.
  3. Sodehaba = Yuki – Katahaba
  4. Katahaba = Yuki – Sodehaba
  5. Sodetake = 49cm
  6. Sodeguchi = 22.5cm
  7. Sodetsuke = 22.5cm
  8. Miyatsukuchi = 15cm
  9. Sode Marumi = 2cm
  10. Maehaba = depends on your hip size
  11. Ushirohaba = depends on your hip size
  12. Dakihaba = Same as the Maehaba width, or Maehaba -1cm
  13. Okumihaba = 15cm
  14. Aizumahaba = 14cm or Same as the Okumihaba
  15. Tsumashita = half of the Mitake
  16. Kurikoshi = 2.6cm
  17. Okumisagari = 22.5cm
  18. Eri Tsukekomi = 1cm or 2cm
  19. Kensaki Nuikomi = 7.5cm
  20. Kataaki = 8.7cm

Measurements are for a women’s kimono.
Measurements will vary depending on body type.
Combinations with Nagajuban are disregarded.

Points to kimono measurements

  • Dakihaba
  • Aizumahaba
  • Eri-Tsukekomi
  • Kataaki

These four measurements vary depending on the region, the kimono shop’s policy, and where the tailor has been trained.

Let’s take a closer look at what the differences are.


If you set the Dakihaba
  The basic : Dakihaba = Maehaba – 1cm.

If you don’t set the Dakihaba
The basic : Dakihaba = Maehaba  
The same width of the Maehaba is used from the hem to the Kensaki.


If you set the Aizumahaba
  The basic : Okumihaba – 1cm

If you don’t set the Aizumahaba
  The same width of the Okumihaba.

Eri tsukekomi

There are two main types: 1cm or 2cm
In many cases, it depends on how the Kataaki is cut.


There are two ways to cut the Kataaki.
One is to cut in a straight line, and the other is to cut in a curve.

If it is cut in a curve, how much roundness is needed depends on the kimono shop and the tailor.

Kataaki cut with a curve


Kimono measurements vary slightly from region to region, kimono shop to kimono shop, and tailor to tailor. I believe that these subtle differences affect the way the kimonos look and feel.
First, I would like to try on my own body to find out more about the “kimono figure and measurements”.

Related Articles




Japanese kimono tailor|Based in Japan
Every Friday, I hold a Wasai class in Japanese. I am aiming to hold Wasai classes in English.